Farandole from Bizet’s L’Arlesienne Suite No. 2 by Rob
January 27, 2009, 12:00 pm
Filed under: music

This is the fourth movement, a farandole, from the second suite of incidental music composed by Georges Bizet for Alphonse Daudet’s play L’Arlesienne. The second suite was arranged and published four years after Bizet’s death by Ernest Guiraud. This particular performance is conducted by everyone’s favorite Latvian conductor, Mariss Jansons.


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I can tell you that that’s a damn fun piece to play, especially on trombone. L’Arlesienne is great.

Comment by enagler

There is a Christmas hymn with this tune called “March of the Three Kings,” but hearing played with a full orchestra instead of a church organ is awesome.

Comment by Bernadette

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: